New Committee Elected at 2018 Annual General Meeting

After the AMA’s AGM on Monday, Craig Johnston was elected for a second term as AMA president, Michael Shade from Yamaha was re-elected Vice President and Tony Burn, Treasurer for the 2018-19 year.

New to the committee is Dave Clark, representing Jacaranda Music, while Damon McMahon and Daryl Horwood depart the committee after a number of continuous year’s service. Mark Amory, Richard Snape, Warrick Baker, Matt Walsham were the other returning wholesaler representatives.  Retail reps returned were Graham Hoskins, Jarred Finnigan, Rob Mestric along with the president, and this year Anthony Ursino from Macron Music joins the committee as he was later appointed as an ex-officio committee member representing the Events Sub Committee.

The AGM passed a unanimous motion expressing appreciation for their contribution to Damon and Daryl and looked forward to their return when possible. Damon was key to developing better piano and keyboard statistics as one of his pet-projects, among the many other responsibilities of a committee member. Daryl was instrumental in the development of the use of the Australian Musician brand as the industry’s public brand, and an advocate of the Melbourne Guitar Show and our other AMA public promotions.

The minutes of the AGM, including the President’s and Treasurer’s Reports have been distributed to members.The president advised members present of work done in promotions, government relations and events. He highlighted the AMA’s submission to the Federal Parliamentary Inquiry into the Music Industry, the work on an exemption for musical instruments trading in products containing rosewood and the development of the AMA’s new events and online footprint and the partnerships with the NAMM Foundation in the development of Make Music Day.