The Australian Music Association is an not for profit incorporated association, registered in NSW. It is governed by an Executive Committee / Board of 12 members. According to the AMA constitution, these members must be representatives of member companies, with 7 wholesale and 5 retail positions on the Board.

There are formally four office bearers (President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary) but the convention is that the Executive Officer (an employee, not a board member) is appointed to fulfil the role of Secretary.

As of 2023, under the new Constitution, the office bearers are directly elected by the membership at the AGM, followed by the election of other board members.

The AGM must be held within six months of the end of financial year, it is typically held in October or November after the annual audit has been completed. All Retail & Wholesale members are eligible to vote at the AGM and nominate for a position.

See also: