Author Archives: Alex Masso

Vale Chris Erkus

27th October 2023

Chris Erkus, well known and respected in our industry for his work developing MUSICPOS, APIC and DHOUSE, passed away earlier this week.

Chris was the loved husband of Fatma (dec.) and loving father of Jason and Ella.

The service to celebrate the life of Christopher Huseyin Erkus was held in the Cirrus Reflection Space, Bunurong Memorial Park, on Friday 27th October, 2023, and he was laid to rest with his beloved wife Fatma.

Halifax Consulting Group was established in 1999 by Chris Erkus, who designed and developed the Point of Sale system called MUSIPOS that year. After the successful deployment of MUSIPOS, HCG completed developing DHOUSE for the suppliers in 2001.The Australian Print & Instrument Catalogue (APIC), designed and programmed by Chris in 1998, was acquired by Halifax Consulting Group in 2014.

The services developed by Chris have been widely used in our industry for a quarter of a century. Many AMA members have expressed their condolences this week.

AMA Election Results

The Annual General Meeting of the Australian Music Association was held on 18th October 2023 in Sydney.

Cameron Leitch (Soundbay) has been elected President, while Warrick Baker (Kawai) and Michael Jago (Link Audio) continue in the other office bearer roles of Vice President & Treasurer respectively.

Three new members were elected to the Executive Committee, Matt Walsham (Roland), Tosh-Jake Finnigan (Toshco Music) and Aaron Hill (Yamaha).

Thanks to all members that participated in the AGM, and for those that have served and are continuing to serve on the Executive Committee. Each of these members makes a substantial contribution to the governance and operations of the AMA and its work to support the industry.

In particular, thanks to Mat Taylor (Yamaha) who has departed after several years on the Executive Committee and his integral role in key decisions, practical support including hosting meetings, the Education & Community Subcommittee, and other AMA work. Yamaha has nominated Aaron Hill this year instead. Tony Burn did not continue as an elected Executive Committee member but offered to continue his involvement as an ex-officio member.

Read more about the full Executive Committee for 2023-24. Members can also read the Annual Report & Financial Statements for 2022-23, presented & accepted at the AGM.


Review of Modern Awards including GRIA

22nd September 2023

The Fair Work Commission has announced a review of modern awards which will cover everyone’s favourite award, the General Retail Industry Award (alongside the Hospitality Industry (General) Award, Fast Food Industry Award & Restaurant Industry Award, Clerks Award). The Federal Government agreed to review the modern award system in exchange for crossbench support for the passage of the Secure Jobs, Better Pay Bill 2022. Continue reading